Game of Thrones’ Gaffe: Starbucks Coffee Cup ☕ Left in Final Cut of Episode 4

Even Dragon Queens need to get their caffeine fix.

On Sunday, eagle-eyed fans of “Game of Thrones” noticed something out of place during a feast scene in the fourth episode of the final season of the epic fantasy show — a modern-day coffee cup.

The label is muddled in shadow and flickering candle light, but many fans were speculating it was the iconic green circle from Starbucks.

“TBH we’re surprised she didn’t order a Dragon Drink,” Starbucks responded on Twitter Monday.

“I know! I can’t believe, I mean, our on-set you know, prop people and decorators are so, you know, so on it 1,000 percent,” Bernie Caufield, executive producer of “Game of Thrones” said on WNYC’s “All of It” Monday. “I just honestly can’t, I’m like is that really, because nowadays you can’t believe what you see cause people can put things into, you know, into a photo that really doesn’t exist.”

“But I guess maybe it was there, I’m not sure,” she said. “But, yeah. We’re sorry! Westeros was the first place to actually, you know, have Starbucks, and it’s a little known fact, and yeah, you know…I guess if that’s the worst thing they’re finding then we’re in good shape.”

Representatives for HBO and Starbucks did not immediately respond requests for comment.

Leave a comment